While getting a driver’s license is a major milestone for many American teenagers, there is a lot of confusion about what restrictions exist for new drivers. In Connecticut, our laws are designed to remind teenagers about the responsibilities they face sharing the roads.
The Connecticut Auto Accident Lawyers at Carter Mario Injury Lawyers are well versed in the state’s four driver’s license restrictions for teen drivers. We’ve added a more detailed explanation to help you and any new teen driver understand the restrictions.
- Passengers. For the first 6 months after a teen receives their driver’s license, they can only drive with a parent or legal guardian that has their own valid driver’s license, a licensed driving instructor, or a person that is at least 20 years old, and has had their license for at least 4 years with no suspensions.
- Curfew. Until a teen driver reaches their 18th birthday, they may not drive between hours of 11 pm and 5 am unless they are going to a job, school, a religious activity, or a medical emergency.
- Seatbelts. All passengers must use seat belts.
- Cell Phones. Teen drivers can not use their cellphones while driving at all, even with a hands-free device, until their 18th birthday. This also includes tablet computers or any device with a video display. Once the driver turns 18, they may use a hands-free device. Carter Mario Injury Lawyers always recommends that you Stow Before You Go.
If you ever have a question about teen driving laws, or if you’ve been in an accident and have legal questions, you’re welcome to call the Connecticut Auto Accident Lawyers at Carter Mario Injury Lawyers anytime at (844) 634-5656.