In Connecticut, a new series of motor vehicle laws went into effect on Tuesday, October 1st 2013. These five new laws affect registrations, driver testing, taxes, license points, and driving schools.
The Connecticut Auto Accident Lawyers at Carter Mario Law Firm are well aware of these new laws, and how they can be applied when an auto accident occurs. We’re happy to answer any legal questions you have if you’ve been involved in an auto accident.
Here are some brief summaries of the five new laws…
Electric vehicle registrations changed from annual to biennial.
Snowmobile and All-Terrain Vehicle registrations are changed from March 31 to two years from the registration date.
- Driver Testing
A highway work zone safety and driver responsibility question must be on every knowledge test.
A question about the dangers of distracted driving, including a ban on the use of cell phones and electronic devices, must be on every knowledge test.
- Property Taxes
Owners of ATVs and boats will be prohibited from registering them if they owe property tax on a motor vehicle.
- License Points / Operator Re-Training / Disqualification
One point will go on the driver's license record of anyone convicted of distracted driving. Fines also will be increased.
DMV will change its policy so that two points are assessed on the driving record for convictions of violations of highway work zone safety laws. Fines also will be increased.
Drivers convicted of going in excess of 75 mph in a work zone and commercial drivers convicted of exceeding 65 mph will be required to attend the operator retraining program. Fines will also be increased.
For commercial driver license holders, the definition of “serious violation” will now include talking on a cell phone while operating a commercial vehicle and can lead to disqualification of the license. (Texting is already prohibited.)
- Driving Schools
Driver education classroom information must now include highway work zone safety and driver responsibilities.
Driving schools can increase from $125 to $150 the cost for the required eight-hour road safe-driving practices information session all license applicants must attend.
If you ever have a question about teen driving laws, or if you've been in an accident and have legal questions, you're welcome to call the Connecticut Auto Accident Lawyers at Carter Mario Law Firm anytime.