New Connecticut laws have gone into effect that generally increases access by the citizens of the state to alcoholic beverages. However, one new law will actually have the effect of countering federal legislation. The laws will affect the following issues:
- The hours during which the sale of alcoholic products are allowed
- The locations where alcoholic beverages can be sold
- The type of alcoholic products that are available
One new law expands the hours during which alcoholic products can be sold at package stores and other locations. Such purchases can now be made until 10 p.m. on weekdays and Saturdays and until 6 p.m. on Sundays. The law, which took effect on July 1, adds an additional 60 minutes to the hours during which such purchases are allowed.
In terms of where alcoholic beverages can be purchased, another of the new Connecticut laws allows restaurants, cafes, and taverns to sell sealed containers of draught beer that can then be consumed off their premises. Although the new law should delight the users of “growler” containers, purchases are limited to four liters in a single day for anyone consumer. This should also be a boon to merchants that currently sell growlers and have special facilities designed to keep their products fresh and bubbly for a longer period of time. Prior to the implementation of the new law, such restaurants as the Southport Brewing Co. could only sell their own brands of beer.
Recent legislation has also led to changes in the licensing of those who sell alcoholic products. A single person will now be allowed to have four liquor licenses, up from the previous limit of three. The number of licenses allowed will be increased to five beginning next July.
Among the new alcohol laws, one is restrictive with regard to both sales and possession. Legislation that was recently signed by Gov. Daniel Malloy outlaws powdered alcohol. Known as palcohol, the substance is available in small packets and, when mixed with water, becomes an alcoholic beverage. Opponents of the product had expressed concern because of the wide use of palcohol by minors. One concern was that the small packets could easily be smuggled into schools, concerts, or other locations frequented by minors, and another was that the product itself could be snorted dry, which could, in turn, lead to an assortment of health problems. The new law provides for a fine of $100 for the first-time purchase or possession of palcohol, and a fine of $250 for those convicted of selling the product. Connecticut has joined a number of states across the nation, including nearby Vermont, in restricting powdered alcohol.
Knowing the law when it comes to a substance such as alcohol can help to prevent unwanted legal situations. While some of these new laws will relax some restrictions, it is important to exercise control with a substance like alcohol. We here at Carter Mario always advocate for responsibility in these situations and hope you do as well.