Texting while Driving

Is Texting and Driving Illegal in Connecticut?

An In-Depth Look at Connecticut’s Cellphone Law

It’s no secret texting while driving is dangerous – and often deadly. In recent years, the number of distracted driving accidents hasn’t decreased and many state laws aren’t keeping up. In 2012 alone, research suggested that roughly 18% of fatal crashes in the U.S. were the result of driver distraction. Even still, lawmakers have failed to enact any form of national texting ban in the United States. This means state laws govern the use of cellphones behind the wheel, and some states haven’t implemented handheld bans yet.

What Does Connecticut Law Say About Texting While Driving?

Texting while driving (or checking email, browsing social media, etc.) carries heavy legal consequences in Connecticut. By law, your first handheld cellphone violation is punishable by a $150 fine. Third, fourth, and subsequence texting offenses are punishable by a $500 fine.

Fines for texting while driving in Connecticut:

  • First offense – $150
  • Second offense – $300
  • Subsequence offense – $500

Additionally, minors (drivers less than 18 years old) are not allowed to use handheld
or hands-free cellphones while operating a motor vehicle. If you get a texting while driving citation, your insurance premiums can go up as well.

Connecticut Legislation for Texting While Driving and Cellphones

Last year, several bills sought to enact even stricter penalties for distracted driving. One act, HB No. 5282, sought to establish a completely new level of legal penalties for texting behind the wheel. Introduced by Rep. Melissa H. Ziobron, the act would align distracted driving penalties with the legal consequences of a DUI. Another bill pursued increased fines – double the current amount – for cellphone offenses. Other laws sought to exempt certain electronic devices from current legislation, such as HB No. 6501, which would exempt the use of basic GPS functions on a cellphone for young drivers.

Legal Guidance for Victims of Texting While Driving Accidents

Texting and driving may be illegal in Connecticut, but that doesn’t stop negligent drivers from risking their safety and the safety of others on the road. If you suffered an injury in a distracted driving car accident, speak with a Connecticut car accident lawyer from Carter Mario Law Firm. We can help you fight to get compensation, so take the first step toward the legal guidance you need and call our office now.