Pedestrian Texting while on the Road

Pending Legislation Aims to Curb Distracted Pedestrians

In Connecticut, it’s already against the law to drive distracted. Drivers who violate the law face a $150 fine for the first offense—up to a full $500 fine if they break the law three or more times. In a construction zone, those fines are doubled. Pedestrians could soon face a similar fate. An article on the proposed change is available here.

About the Change

The Transportation Committee—part of the Connecticut General Assembly—recently weighed a bill that would allow law-enforcement officers to fine pedestrians who cross streets while looking at their cellphones.

Legislators in favor of the bill say they are trying to raise awareness among pedestrians of the dangers of distraction. Some note recent data regarding traffic accidents shows more instances of pedestrians using electronic devices—and remaining unaware of what is occurring around them.

At the same time, opponents feel the Assembly is trying to legislate common sense—and question the feasibility of attempts to correctly enforce the potential new law. They say adding additional laws that are impractical to enforce is not an effective solution to the problem.

A First Among States

While certain cities currently have ordinances to restrict distracted walking, there are no state-level laws which address the issue. Connecticut—if the new bill passes—would be the first. If successful, this new bill could serve as a model for other states to follow. Pedestrians would receive a warning upon their first offense. Subsequent offenses would result in a $20 fine.

April is Distracted Driving Awareness Month

The National Safety Council (NSC) recognizes April as Distracted Driving Awareness Month. During April, the NSC encourages motorists to recognize the dangers of distracted driving. They remind us nine Americans are killed–and over 100 more are injured—at the hands of distracted drivers every day.

We Can Help

If you or someone you love has been injured in an accident through no fault of your own, you need an experienced Connecticut Personal Injury Lawyer at your side. Let Carter Mario Law Firm protect your rights—and fight to secure full, fair compensation for your losses. Just call (203) 806-9256 today. You can also submit a FREE Initial Consultation Form online.

The Carter Mario team offers decades of combined legal experience. We provide 24/7 access to our compassionate attorneys—along with our exclusive Zero Fee Warranty. With Carter Mario, you don’t owe any attorneys’ fees unless we recover on your behalf. It’s that simple. Call (203) 806-9256 to find out what Carter Mario can do for you.

Get Carter! Guaranteed Tough! Guaranteed Fast!