Under Connecticut law, motorists who register their vehicles on public roads must carry minimum insurance coverage—both for their own protection against liability and to guard against the harm they may suffer at the hands of others. We examine these minimum requirements in detail here.
While there is no upper limit to the amount of insurance coverage a motorist can carry in this state, there is a minimum level required to legally operate a motor vehicle. These minimums apply in two areas: Liability Coverage and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UM/UIM) Coverage.
About Liability Coverage
Liability Coverage protects drivers against liability—and helps cover the cost of any property damage or injuries they may cause to others if they are involved in an accident where they are found at fault. Connecticut requires motorists to carry the following minimums:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person/per accident
- $50,000 total bodily injury for each accident
- $25,000 in total property damage per accident
About UM/UIM Coverage
UM/UIM coverage exists to protect a motorist in the event of an accident caused by a driver who is uninsured—or a driver who does not carry sufficient liability coverage to address those medical bills which may result from an accident. Connecticut law requires that driver’s carry:
- $25,000 UM/UIM coverage per person
- $50,000 total coverage per accident
Electronic Proof of Insurance
In Connecticut, motorists do not need to carry a paper insurance card—provided they can present digital proof of insurance coverage. This information—typically available through an insurance company’s mobile app—can be accessed using a cell phone or other mobile device if needed.
According to Allstate, 48 states currently accept electronic proof of insurance. Only Massachusetts, New Mexico, and the District of Columbia do not. Neighboring Massachusetts—it is worth noting—includes the driver’s required insurance information on their vehicle’s registration document.
We Can Help
If you or someone you love has been injured in an accident through no fault of your own, you need an experienced Connecticut Car Accident Injury Lawyer at your side. Let Carter Mario Law Firm protect your rights—and fight to secure full, fair compensation for your losses. Just call (203) 806-9256 today. You can also submit a FREE Initial Consultation Form online.
The Carter Mario team offers decades of combined legal experience. We provide 24/7 access to our compassionate attorneys—along with our exclusive Zero Fee Warranty. With Carter Mario, you don’t owe any attorneys’ fees unless we recover on your behalf. It’s that simple. Call (203) 806-9256 to find out what Carter Mario can do for you.