In 2019, Connecticut drunk drivers caused roughly 32% of the state's fatal car crashes. Unfortunately, in the United States, drunk drivers take to the road almost 300,000 times each day. Yet only 4,000 of those people are arrested and face punishment. Take inventory of your sobriety before you take to the road. Don't drive home, even after only a few drinks.
A drunk driving charge in Connecticut carries numerous penalties. A driver's first DUI carries fines anywhere from $500 to $1,000. It will also result in spending two days to six months in jail and having a suspended license for a year. Calculate in community service, attorney fees, and a mandatory alcohol education program and a DUI is looking to drastically affect day-to-day life.
Take preventative measures before going out in order to avoid the temptation to drive intoxicated. Choose a designated driver before the night begins. If nobody is willing, store the number of a taxi service on your phone. If you're tech-savvy you can download the ridesharing services Uber or Lyft to your smartphone and summon a ride. If you are using a cab service, prepare cash ahead of time to avoid excuses when the time comes to call for a ride.
With the number of drunken fatalities rising each year, it's important to keep an eye out for inebriated drivers on the road. The first step to maintaining safety is to avoid driving at night, especially during peak nightlife hours, between midnight and 3 a.m. Watch for cars moving 10 mph above or below the posted speed limit. When vehicles are swerving, drifting into other lanes, or tailgating and passing too close to surrounding cars it may be indicative of a drunk driver.
If you see a car driving abnormally it is okay to be suspicious. Stay far behind the car in question and never try to pass them, as their behavior can be erratic. If feeling threatened or if your observations make you suspect a drunk driver, do not hesitate to pick up the phone and alert the police. If you become a victim in a drunk driving accident, call 911, and get to safety. Record any information pertaining to the vehicle and driver involved in the accident and contact a trusted car accident lawyer.