Call Anytime. 24/7
(844) 634-5656

What to do After a Car Accident

/
Blog/ Uncategorized/ What to do After a Car Accident

No one wants to be involved in a car accident. The physical damage to both you and your vehicle, as well as the potential cost of medical bills and automobile repairs are enough to to cause anyone’s stress level to skyrocket. We all know about exchanging insurance cards and calling the police if you have an accident. We have some very useful information for you for after a car accident occurs.

If you are injured in a car accident in Connecticut, you have two years to file a lawsuit. The same two-year statute of limitations also applies to any property damage suit as well. While this will limit the amount of time you can file in court, it does not affect when you can file with a claim with an insurance company. It is still recommended that you file with the insurance company as soon as possible after the accident. Some insurance companies have deadlines pertaining to how long after an accident you can file a claim. Also, if you are negotiating a settlement with the insurance company and you have as much of that two year window to sue, you maintain a pretty large bargaining chip on your end.

One exception to this rule involves government vehicles (i.e. you were rear-ended by a city bus). Government entities often have different deadlines and you will need to file a claim with a specific government agency in those cases.

In Connecticut, if you go to court, both you and the other person involved will try to prove who was “at fault” for the accident. Due to the rules in our state, even if you are the plaintiff in an accident lawsuit, you can be found partly at fault for the accident. This can affect the amount of settlement that you would receive. For example, if you were seeking $10,000 in damages from someone in court but you were found to be 20% responsible for the accident, you would only receive $8,000 in damages. Drivers who are deemed to be more than 50% responsible for an accident would not be eligible for damages.

Another state law stipulates minimum insurance requirements for drivers. Motorists are required to have enough coverage to pay up to $20,000 in an accident in which only one person is injured or killed, $40,000 in an accident that results in multiple casualties. The person’s insurance must also provide coverage of up to $10,000 for property damage. Additionally, drivers must have coverage in the event of an accident involving an uninsured, with the amounts the same as when the other motorist is insured. Drivers registered in Connecticut can avoid the insurance requirement if they can prove their ability to cover, in an efficient and timely manner, any damages that may arise from a traffic crash.

We hope everyone stays safe on the roads out there, but sometimes car accidents are not preventable. At Carter Mario Injury Lawyers, we want you to know you have options and we are always available to provide legal guidance during tough times like these.