Electronic motors might just be the wave of the future for vehicles—including bicycles. Electric bikes are becoming more common on the streets of Connecticut due to their convenience, but many people are unsure of their legality or the requirements to ride them on public roads. It’s important to know some of the electric bike laws in Connecticut in the event you are injured while riding one or by someone else who is.
RULES for E-Bikes
If you ride an electric bicycle, here are a few rules you should know:
Electric bikes must meet state criteria
Connecticut defines electric bicycles as “motor-driven cycles” with motors of no more than 750W in power, seat heights no less than 26”, and a maximum speed of no greater than 20 miles per hour.
Riders must possess valid driver’s licenses
Because electric bicycles qualify as a type of motor vehicle, riders must have valid driver’s licenses when they ride them. However, e-bikes don’t require registration.
E-bikes only allowed on certain roadways
If you ride an e-bike, you must stay off of sidewalks, limited access highways, and turnpikes in Connecticut. If you ride your e-bike on a roadway with a speed limit that’s greater than 20 mph, you must stay in the right-hand lane or on a usable shoulder.
Hurt on an e-Bike? Carter Mario Wants to Help.
At Carter Mario Law Firm, we’re here to help anyone who was injured on a bicycle—whether it’s a manual bike or an electric bike. Bicyclists often suffer serious injuries when they’re struck by vehicles, and it’s our goal to help victims like you get the compensation they deserve. Call us today for a free consultation.